Why Do Golfers Wear One Glove?

If you’ve ever watched a game of golf, one thing you might have noticed is that some of the players (though not all) wear a single glove for the duration of the game. 

Why Do Golfers Wear One Glove?

To those who aren’t familiar with the physical reality of playing golf, this might seem odd, but there’s actually a very good reason why golfers wear one glove. 

Read on to find out about the purpose of the single golf glove and why golfers choose to wear just one glove rather than the usual pair. 

What Is The Golf Glove For? 

First and foremost, the single golf glove you will see some golf players wearing on the course is for protection. 

While golf might not seem like a sport in which the players would be likely to sustain injuries, the hands can come under strain and develop blisters from gripping the golf club tightly and the friction involved in swinging the club at high speeds(see also: Smash Factor?). 

Having blistered hands can make it more difficult to practice and to play well, so some golfers choose to wear a glove to minimize the risk of injury and ensure that they can play at their best. 

Why Do Golfers Only Wear One Glove?

We’ve established that the purpose of a golf glove is to protect the hand wearing it from blisters, discomfort, and general wear and tear. However, that doesn’t explain why golfers only wear one glove instead of two. 

The main reason why golfers usually wear a single glove is because the pressure exerted on golfers’ left and right hands during a game of golf is not equal. One hand (the non-dominant hand) is in control of the speed and motion of the golf club, while the dominant hand is there mainly for guidance. 

This means that the non-dominant hand is significantly more likely to get blistered or feel uncomfortable over the course of a game, especially for players that have a tighter grip.

The dominant hand doesn’t really need a glove because, again, its job is not a strenuous one. For this reason, many golf players choose to wear one glove while playing to ensure their comfort throughout the game. 

Is the Golf Glove Compulsory?

As you may have noticed from watching golf, not all golfers wear a glove. So, it’s not compulsory and is entirely up to the discretion of the player whether or not to use this kind of protection. 

Although wearing a glove in golf is never compulsory, many golfers will tell you that it’s an investment worth making and a habit worth getting into, even if wearing a glove on one hand feels strange at first.

If your hands aren’t suffering after a game, you’ll be better able to perform well during practice and games, which is the most important thing. 

Why Do Golfers Wear One Glove?

Why Do Some Golfers Wear The Glove On Their Dominant Hand?

The vast majority of the time, golfers will wear the golf glove on their non-dominant hand (the left for most people) because this hand is responsible for the movement of the club as opposed to stabilizing and guiding the club.

So, logically speaking, the non-dominant hand is the most likely to get blistered and uncomfortable. 

With that being said, you might occasionally see a golfer wearing a glove on their dominant hand. This is simply because, while there is a standard and recommended way to hold and swing a golf club, everyone’s grip and technique is going to be slightly different.

Because of this, some golfers (particularly those with a high handicap and sometimes even mid-handicappers) will choose to wear the glove on the other hand. 

Remember that there are no hard-and-fast rules in golf when it comes to the wearing of gloves, including which hand you choose to wear your glove on.

So, if you’re considering wearing a glove yourself to protect your hand during golf, we recommend trying it on both hands to see which one has the most positive impact. 

Can Golfers Wear Two Gloves?

Since some golfers can get blisters on their dominant hand as well as their non-dominant hand, it makes sense to ask whether it’s possible for golfers to wear a glove on each hand. 

Again, there are no strict rules about the wearing of gloves in golf, so technically speaking, golfers are allowed to do this. However, there are a couple of reasons why most golfers won’t wear gloves on both hands. 

For one thing, they can prevent you from getting a proper grip on the club, and if you’re used to being able to feel the golf club with one hand, adding a second glove can throw you off your game because it interferes with sensation. 

Having said that, wearing two gloves can eliminate some common golf problems such as palm sweat and rain, both of which can lead to a slippery grip.

If you’re practicing at the driving range, wearing two gloves may also be a good idea because the repetitive movements required at the range are likely to cause blistering, often on both hands rather than just one. 

Whether you think wearing two gloves for golf is a good idea is something best decided on a case-by-case basis. While wearing two gloves is not the norm in golf, you should try it before you knock it because you might be surprised by how effective an extra glove can be in certain situations.

Final Thoughts 

Golf gloves are designed for hand protection purposes, but they can also help to enhance a golfer’s grip, especially on hot days where hands get sweaty, or in rainy weather. 

Most of the time, golfers will wear a glove on just one hand because the non-dominant hand is typically more prone to blisters. However, some golfers will wear the glove on their dominant hand, and others will choose to wear two gloves. 

We recommend trying out golf gloves on both hands during practice. This way, you can get a feel for what works best for you before it really matters.

Garratt Shmidt
Latest posts by Garratt Shmidt (see all)